Tags

, ,

Well, I am venturing into the world of sewing again, after failed attempts and breaking three sewing machines. My wonderful husband bought me a Brother CS-6000i sewing machine and it is awesome. It is fairly idiot-proof, with guiding illustrations on the machine as to where to put the bobbin, put the thread and it even has a needle threader.

My first successful project was a half circle skirt made out of an old Celtic knot sheet (full sheet design very similar to this) my husband got years ago when he worked at the Texas Renaissance Festival. It got ripped but I couldn’t bear to trash it and it wasn’t until recently that I was able to salvage it.

It had a large circle in the middle so I just cut it out, sans the ripped part, and was able to make this cute half-circle skirt from the rest. Now I want to figure out what to do with the rest of the fabric. I used one of the edges to make the waistband and then another strip to make a tie that I could tie into a ribbon in the back.

20120720-163549.jpg

